Society of the missionaries of St.Francis Xavier, Pilar, Goa, Agnel Region

Padre Conceição College Of Engineering

Managed by Agnel Charities, Approved by AICTE and Affiliated to Goa University

‘Bigg Leap 2018’ Entrepreneurial seminar and Business Idea contest at PCCE

A Seminar on ‘Blockchain’ was delivered on 21st September 2018 at 11am, by Mr. Jason Fernandes, co-founder and COO of Malta based AEToken. The talk was attended by all the E-cell members of college. The talk began with Mr. Jason introducing the students to Block chain. He then went on to talk about Bitcoin, explaining how it works and what it means exactly. He also spoke about mining of cryptocurrencies and the technologies involved. Mr. Jason told the students about Smart Contracts, about how it eliminates the middle man in all business contracts. Mr. Jason then went on to explain the various use cases of Block chain, in the government, in the medical field, with refugees and several others. The session then ended with a very interactive question and answer round, wherein the students asked him all of their queries and Mr. Jason answered them with ease.

Later in the afternoon, an Enthusiastic group of students participated in the Bigg Leap 2018 a business idea competition. This competition was held in collaboration with CIBA.

The Bigg Leap Programme aimed at increasing exposure towards entrepreneurial opportunities, supporting schemes & facilities that are available to young entrepreneurs. It also aimed at encouraging the students of PCCE to find career alternatives through innovation & startups, while stressing the advantages of self employment.

12 teams from various colleges such as GEC, AITD, DBCE, Carmel college and the host college PCCE across Goa presented their ideas in both technical and non-technical categories

The judges for the finals were: Mr. Jason Fernandes, co-founder and COO of Malta based AEToken, Mr. Rohin Parker, Founder, Mrinq Technologies, Mr. Ryan Vaz, Founder, INFINYT 3D, Ms. Gautami Raiker, Director and CEO at LawMate.in and Mr. Amey Karmali, Manager CIBA.

The winners of the competition were Mr. Dave Paiva and Ms. Kristen Collaco in first place (PCCE), Ms. Alvina Almeida (Carmel College) in second place and the third place was share between Ms. Dikshita Desai (PCCE) and Mr. Biswas Tiwari and Ms. Siddhi Gangulikar (PCCE).

Principal Dr. Mahesh Parappagoudar congratulated the teams and the E-Cell committee members and gave away the prizes. Associate Professor, Prof. Niyan Marchon and Assistant Professor, Prof. Alzira Xavier, both from the Training and Placement Cell, PCCE successfully guided the students in conducting the event. Ms. Vidhi Malhotra, third year information technology engineering student was the compere for the occasion.

Close Menu